Grotica is a freaking hoax! |
Increasingly these days bloggers need to verify stories for accuracy and to avoid being made a fool over a hoax. The most recent hoax appears to have been generated out of a fake press release. The domain Grotica.com is registered by WebmasterWorld, not Google, but that diddn’t stop pressbox.co.uk from picking it up:
Called Grotica, the new service uses sophisticated image processing tools to automatically categorize still photos and movies according to subject matter and degree of explicitness. Google’s powerful keyword search functions have been further enhanced for this application with over 3000 synonyms for anatomical terms and erotic activities.
Titled “Google unveils new erotica search engine” the release should have immediately set off the crap alarms at Pressbox. Not to mention the terrible boilerplate release style and the obvious joke in the PR contact’s name and contact information : Linda S. Boreman, 650.253.4950 [the real Google media contact number], lovelace@google.com. Wouldn’t the hiring of one of hiring most famous porn stars, Linda Lovelace, make news?
Yeah, considering Deep Throat pron star, Linda Lovelace died over three years ago that would really have been something!
Hoax alert!
Did this post make you go hmm?




I always thought a way AOL could increase its income, is to go into Porn. That is, be a trusted go between to peddle the stuff.
Instead, AOL is bending over for Microsoft, apparently, instead. So that Google can get reamed.
Comment by grapeape — September 16, 2005 @ 3:02 pm PST
[…] Maar zoals met alle goede dingen in het leven bleek ook dit een vuile Hoax! Terwijl het toch een gat in de markt is want zo wordt het niks natuurlijk. […]
Pingback by LucasdeLinkseLul » Blog Archive » Maar niet heus — September 18, 2005 @ 6:03 pm PST