Rowe registered mikerosoft.ca in addition to mikerowesoft.com (not!) |
This just in. An update:
Since the news hit Rowe has been unable to keep his site online due to visitors wishing to give Rowe their support. This morning the website has the following info:
After further discussion with my lawyer regarding recent contact with Microsoft Corporation I have decided to temporarily take www.mikerosoft.ca offline and move the site to www.onlinemike.com. Until the situation has been resolved one way or another this appears to be the best course of action at the present time.
So … that teen from Canada, Mike Rowe, had also registered mikerosoft.ca in addition to mikerowesoft.com and, at his attorney’s advice, has taken it down ‘temporarily’. A scam. Read the original take here.
Correction: geek.com has changed their story as reader Upchuck points out and it appears that there are 2 different Mike’s. Thanks to Upchuck (nice name) for setting the record straight:
There are 2 (two) Mikes. There is Mike Morris (late of http://www.Mikerosoft.ca , now of mikeonline.com), distributer of software, mostly video drivers AND there is Mike Rowe ( still of http://www.MikeRoweSoft.com ), 17 year old designer of web sites. Sheesh! I blame the banning of Phonics in school for the production of two such illiterate geeks. Whole word, HA!
I’ve updated this post to correct the erroneous information (that I got from geek.com), but my opinion still doesn’t change on this matter. This kid knew damn well what he was doing. The fact the he has a forum up with people encouraging others to register names that sound like Microsoft even makes this situation more absurd.
Did this post make you go hmm?
Related Posts
- Microsoft vs. Mike Rowe Soft
- Bizarre: 2 different Mikes facing Microsoft legal quagmires
- Fiery visions of Mike Rowe Soft
- Geek dating at its finest
- Graphic designer pricing: Cheapest is not always best
- Looking for tech-related blogs



